Three chemists win the Nobel Prize in Chemistry, one of them a second time

The 2022 Nobel Prize in Chemistry has been awarded to American scientist Carolyn R. Bertozzi, Danish scientist Morten Meldal and American scientist K. Barry Sharpless for “developments in click chemistry and bioorthogonal chemistry”. Barry Sharpless and Morten Meldal laid the foundation for a functional form of chemistry, click chemistry. In this chemistry, molecular building blocks come together quickly and efficiently. And Carolyn Bertozzi took click sonochemistry to a new dimension and started using it in living organisms. This is Barry Sharpless’s second Nobel Prize in Chemistry. It was he who started the process. Around 2000, he coined the concept of “click chemistry,” a simple and reliable form of chemistry in which reactions occur quickly, avoiding unwanted by-products.

This article is reprinted from:
This site is for inclusion only, and the copyright belongs to the original author.