Google will automatically delete user visits to abortion clinics from location history

Jen Fitzpatrick, Google’s senior vice president of core systems and experiences, announced in an official blog post that information about users going to abortion clinics will be automatically deleted from location history. Calls for tech companies to tighten privacy controls have grown after the U.S. Supreme Court decided last week to remove the constitutionally protected abortion right. Fitzpatrick said the location history setting for Google accounts is off by default, and only those users who choose to turn the feature on will store location history. Some places people go to — including counseling centers, domestic violence shelters, abortion clinics, fertility centers, addiction treatment facilities, weight loss clinics, cosmetic clinics, and other medical facilities — can be particularly private if Google’s system recognizes that someone has visited For these places, these entries will be removed from the location history shortly after their visit. The new removal policy will go into effect in the coming weeks.

This article is reprinted from: https://www.solidot.org/story?sid=72009
This site is for inclusion only, and the copyright belongs to the original author.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.